About the NELCL

Send to Printer 
  • The North East London Community Cricket League plays matches on Saturday afternoons, mostly in Hackney.
  • 2008 welcomed 2 new teams, Tower Ravens and Victoria Park Juniors, both were competitive, in a season that saw London Fields and Island share the title. 2009 saw Hackney Village and London Tigers up the numbers to 7 sides. In 2010 the league has expanded to 8 teams with the arrival of Royal Sovereign CC
  • The standard is reasonable but this is not club cricket - it is more pub than club standard. In accordance with this, the games are played in a friendly spirit – teams want to win, but not at the cost of cheating.
  • The way the league is organised means that we have found it easiest to book pitches centrally, generally Hackney council's pitches at Springfield Park (Clapton Road), London Fields (Mare Street) and Millfields (Mare Street/Lea Bridge Road).
  • This means that each team pays the league rather than for its own pitches. Depending on how many teams there are in next season's league,and whether or not Hackney council offer any support, the fees will be between £400 - £500 for a 10-12 game league season
  • The league runs from the end of April to the around the end of September, so we would need to have a reasonable commitment on your part to field a team for the whole summer - we have had interest from students who were not able to commit ot the second half of the season before.
  • The league also requires that its teams have public liability insurance. Hackney Council (and other venues) have demanded this, and without it we can't get the bookings - we have managed to secure this for £120 per club, which would also cover any other fixtures (including the VP league).
  • The number of fixtures is completely dependent on how many teams want to join/have joined.
  • Finally, we are looking to expand and include as many teams as possible, so your interest is welcome. If you are interested, given what I have said above, please let me know and we'll get back to you on what to do next.
  • Elected Officers:
        Jon Schnadhorst - Chairman
        Paul Turley - Treasurer
        Chris Skinner - webmaster